A-State’s J.D. McKissic Named to FWAA Freshman All-America Team


Congratulations to Arkansas State University Red Wolves’ Wide Receiver J.D. McKissic for being named to the Football Writers Association of America Freshman All-America Team.


FORT LAUDERDALE, Fla. (FWAA) – The 12th annual Football Writers Association of America Freshman All-America Team has been announced, with all 11 Football Bowl Subdivision Conferences and Notre Dame represented on the 30-man roster. A pair of players from the team, Alabama wide receiver Amari Cooper and Notre Dame defensive back KeiVarae Russell, will battle one another in tonight’s Discover BCS National Championship Game.Heisman Trophy-winning Texas A&M quarterback Johnny Manziel became the first quarterback to be named to both the FWAA All-America Team and its Freshman All-America Team. Only three other players have earned a spot on both teams: Oklahoma running back Adrian Peterson (2004); and Texas Tech wide receiver Michael Crabtree and Missouri wide receiver/return specialist Jeremy Maclin (2007). The FWAA has named a Freshman All-America team since the 2001 season.Ohio State’s first-year coach Urban Meter claimed the first-year coaching honors after his Buckeyes completed a perfect 12-0 regular season.The team and coach are selected by an 11-person panel of nationally-prominent writers led by Mike Griffith of the MLive Media Group. Both true freshmen (15 players) and redshirt freshmen (15 players) were considered for the team and are so noted.



Pos. Player, School Ht. Wt. Hometown
QB Johnny Manziel, Texas A&M 6-1 200 Kerrville, Texas
RB • Kenneth Dixon, Louisiana Tech 6-0 215 Strong, Ark.
RB • Todd Gurley, Georgia 6-1 218 Tarboro, N.C.
WR Davante Adams, Fresno State 6-2 200 Palo Alto, Calif.
WR • Amari Cooper, Alabama 6-1 198 Miami, Fla.
WR J.D. McKissic, Arkansas State 5-10 185 Phenix City, Ala.
TE • Devin Funchess, Michigan 6-5 229 Farmington Hills, Mich.
OL Jack Allen, Michigan State 6-1 295 Hinsdale, Ill.
OL Austin Blythe, Iowa 6-3 275 Williamsburg, Iowa
OL Jake Brendel, UCLA 6-4 295 Plano, Texas
OL Le’Raven Clark, Texas Tech 6-5 303 Rockdale, Texas
OL Parker Ehinger, Cincinnati 6-7 290 Rockford, Mich.
OL Tyler Johnstone, Oregon 6-6 292 Chandler, Ariz.


Pos. Player, School Ht. Wt. Hometown
DL Deion Barnes, Penn State 6-4 246 Philadelphia, Pa.
DL • Devonte Fields, TCU 6-4 240 Arlington, Texas
DL Samuel Ukwuachu, Boise State 6-4 222 Pearland, Texas
DL • Leonard Wllliams, USC 6-5 270 Daytona Beach, Fla.
LB Kyler Fackrell, Utah State 6-5 236 Mesa, Ariz.
LB Cory James, Colorado State 6-0 235 Del Rio, Texas
LB • Tyler Matakevich, Temple 6-1 220 Stratford, Conn.
LB Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss 5-11 203 Loganville, Ga.
DB Kevin Byard, Middle Tennessee 5-11 229 Lithonia, Ga.
DB • Ronald Darby, Florida State 5-11 189 Oxon Hill, Md.
DB • KeiVarae Russell, Notre Dame 5-11 182 Everett, Wash.
DB • Trevon Stewart, Houston 5-9 183 Patterson, La.


Pos. Player, School Ht. Wt. Hometown
P • Tyler Williams, Marshall 6-0 195 Fort Wayne, Ind.
K • Austin Lopez, San Jose State 6-0 170 Euless, Texas
PR • Jaime Wilson, Western Michigan 5-11 196 Belle Glade, Fla.
KR • Duke Johnson, Miami 5-9 188 Miami, Fla.
AP • Stefon Diggs, Maryland 6-1 185 Gaithersburg, Md.


Urban Meyer, Ohio State
• Denotes true freshman


The Football Writers Association of America, a non-profit organization founded in 1941, consists of more than 1,200 men and women who cover college football for a living. The membership includes journalists, broadcasters and publicists, as well as key executives in all the areas that involve the game. The FWAA works to govern areas that include gameday operations, major awards and its annual All-America team. For more information about the FWAA and its award programs, contact Steve Richardson at tiger@fwaa.com or 972-713-6198.

All-Time FWAA Freshman All-America Teams
• 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009 | 2010 | 2011 | 2012

Marc Anderson Las Vegas Review Journal Mountain West
Andrew Gribble Alabama Media Group SEC
Mike Griffith MLive Media Group Big Ten
Rich Hammond Orange County Register Pac-12
Tommy Hicks Mobile Press-Register Sun Belt
Blair Kerkhoff Kansas City Star Big 12
Tom Luicci Newark Star-Ledger Big East
Brian Murphy Idaho Statesman WAC
Phil Stukenborg Memphis Commercial Appeal Conference USA
John Wagner Toledo Blade MAC
Greg Wallace Freelance ACC

Tags: , ,