Razorback Defensive End Chris Smith Named to Hendricks Watch List


Chris Smith on Hendricks Award Watch List

FAYETTEVILLE – Arkansas Razorback senior defensive end Chris Smith has been named to the Ted Hendricks Defensive End of the Year Award Watch List.

With his inclusion on the Hendricks Award Watch List, Smith has now been included on four preseason watch lists this summer. The senior, who was an honorable mention All-SEC performer in 2012, is also on watch lists for the Bednarik Award, Bronko Nagurski Trophy and Rotary Lombardi Award.

Smith also has been a near-consensus first-team preseason All-SEC selection. The Mount Ulla, N.C., native started all 12 games last season, recording 52 tackles, 13.0 for loss with 9.5 sacks, 12 quarterback hurries, four pass breakups and one fumble. He and Jadeveon Clowney are the only two returners in the SEC with at least 9.0 sacks last season. Smith’s sacks total ranked seventh on Arkansas’ single-season list, and his average of 0.79 sacks per game ranked fourth in the SEC and 25th in the NCAA. His average of 1.08 tackles for loss per game tied for fifth in the conference with teammate Trey Flowers. Smith enters 2013 tied for 12th on UA’s career sacks list with 13.0.

The Ted Hendricks Award is named in honor of college football’s first three-time first-team All-American, who was a defensive end at the University of Miami from 1966-68. His professional career spanned 15 years and included appearances in 215 straight games. He helped his teams to four Super Bowl victories, was named to eight Pro Bowls and inducted into the College and Pro Football Halls of Fame.

On-field performance, exceptional winning attitude, leadership abilities, contributions to school and community and academic preparedness are some of the criteria used to determine the Hendricks Award winner. Members of the national media, head coaches, professional scouts and former winners are included in the voting committee. The committee will narrow the list of candidates, which is subject to change throughout the season, to 4-6 finalists in November. The 2013 Hendricks Award winner will be announced Dec. 11.

Here is a video of Chris Smith discussing the upcoming season at SEC Media Days.

Courtesy University of Arkansas Department of Athletics

Tags: , ,