Harding Student Athlete Makes School History


Harding student athlete, Ewa Zaborowska

SEARCY – Harding sophomore Ewa Zaborowska, a member of the Lady Bison cross country and track teams, was named Capital One 2nd Team Academic All-America to become the first Harding female ever to earn All-America and Academic All-America honors in the same school year.

Zaborowska, a native of Wejherowo, Poland, is only the second Lady Bison ever to earn All-America honors in cross country, indoor track, and outdoor track in the same season.

Zaborowska won the Great American Conference cross country championship, placed sixth in the Central Region Meet, and earned All-America honors with an 18th-place finish at the NCAA Championship.

During the indoor track season, Zaborowska earned All-America honors with a fifth-place finish in the mile at nationals, and added her third All-America honor with a fifth-place finish in the 1,500 meters at outdoor nationals.

Other major awards that Zaborowska has garnered during the 2012-13 school year included: GAC Cross Country Runner of the Year, Lone Star Conference Indoor Track and Field Academic Athlete of the Year, LSC Indoor Track and Field Outstanding Female Track Athlete, and LSC Outdoor Track and Field Academic Athlete of the Year.

In the classroom, Zaborowska is an accounting major with a perfect 4.00 grade point average.

To be eligible for Academic All-America® consideration, a student-athlete must be a varsity starter or key reserve, maintain a cumulative G.P.A. of 3.30 on a scale of 4.00, have reached sophomore athletic and academic standings at his/her current institution and be nominated by his/her sports information director.

Since the program’s inception in 1952, CoSIDA has bestowed Academic All-America honors on more than 19,000 student-athletes in Divisions I, II, III and NAIA, covering all NCAA championship sports.

NOTE: Zaborowska is only the fifth different Harding student-athlete to earn All-America and Academic All-America honors in the same season. The others include: Kyle Blickenstaff (1982, football), Ed Van der Kaarj (1985 & 1986, track and field), Kenneth Collins (1986, basketball), and Tyler Kemmerer (2003 & 2004, track and field).

Courtesy Harding University Department of Athletics

Tags: , ,