Great American Conference Football Honors Announced – Arkansas Well Represented


Great American Conference Football Honors – Henderson St. Leads the Way

Great American Conference Football Honors

RUSSELLVILLE, Ark. – Henderson State’s Kevin Rodgers and Keaton Stigger led the Reddies to a second-straight undefeated regular season and on Tuesday, they earned the Great American Conference’s Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year honors. Reddie head coach Scott Maxfield won his second GAC Coach of the Year award and Southeastern Oklahoma State’s Devlon Wortham ran his way to the Freshman of the Year award.

Rodgers, one of 28 Harlon Hill Candidates, captured the Offensive Player of the Year award by unanimous vote for a second-consecutive season. In addition to his 36 touchdown passes, he set the GAC and Henderson State single-season record for passing yardage with 4,240. He finished the regular season second in Division II in passing yards. He also ranked in the top 10 in touchdowns and pass efficiency.

In addition to claiming the Defensive Player of the Year honor, Stigger became the GAC’s first three-time First-Team All-GAC selection. He led the conference in tackles, 120, and added 11.5 tackles for loss. He became a two-way player for the Reddies as he added the role to fullback to his résumé. On only 28 carries, he scored 14 touchdowns.

A total of 16 Reddies earned First-Team, Second-Team or Honorable Mention honors. Two of Rodgers’ top receiving targets – Darius Davis and Robert Jordan – made the First Team. Davis took over many of the records Jordan established prior to Jordan’s season ending with an injury. Davis caught 65 passes for 1,384 yards and 14 touchdowns. Jordan amassed 724 yards and nine scores in only eight games. Three members of the HSU offensive line – Keaton Hays, Doug Despain and Ricky Gonzales also earned First-Team honors. Defensive end Glennon Bobo joined Stigger on the First-Team defense.

Six members from the second-place Harding Bisons landed on the First Team. Romo Westbrook repeated as First-Team fullback after he led the GAC with 6.7 yards per carry. He totaled 1,025 yards and 10 touchdowns. Donatella Luckett averaged close to 100 all-purpose yards per game to join Westbrook on the First Team. Offensive lineman Mike Thompson made First Team. Defensive end Daniel Riley finished second in the GAC with 9.0 sacks as three members of the Bisons defense, alongside Ashtun Williams and Erik Ragsdale, landed on the First Team.

Ouachita Baptist and Southern Arkansas each put three players on the All-GAC First Team. Tiger running back Chris Rycraw earned First-Team honors for the second straight year. First-Team return specialist Etauj Allen finished the regular season ranked second in county in punt return average and as one of only 10 players in Division II with two punt-return touchdowns. Aaron Sprinkle rounded out the First-Team offensive line.

SAU’s Chris Terry opened the season by setting the GAC single-game record for receiving yards with 247. He finished the year ranked second in the GAC in receiving yards per game to join the Henderson State duo as a First-Team wide receiver. Tate Mustin and Mark Spaight grabbed two of the four First-Team linebacker spots.

Arkansas Tech, Arkansas-Monticello, East Central, Southeastern Oklahoma State and Southwestern Oklahoma State all put a pair of teammates on the All-GAC First Team. In addition to Wortham, UAM kicker Jamie McGee became the only two First-Team freshmen. In his debut, Wortham rushed for 220 yards as the Savage Storm beat Southern Arkansas; he closed the regular season with a GAC-leading 1,119 yards and 12 touchdowns. McGee set the GAC and UAM single-season record with 17 made field goals. Southeastern punter Jared Heim and the Wonder Boys’ Tyler Moon rounded out the special teams slots of the First Team.

Tech’s Deandre’ Bonner ranked third in the nation with seven interceptions to claim a First-Team cornerback spot. ECU’s Qumain Black earned the cornerback position while fellow Tiger Fred Gaines earned First-Team honors at safety for the second-straight year. Both of SWOSU’s First-Team performers – tight end Ryan Corbin and defensive tackle Devin Benton also repeated as First-Team players. Corbin set the Bulldogs’ single-season and career records for receptions. UAM’s Calvin Ursin joined Benton at the defensive tackle spot.

Northwestern Oklahoma State and Southern Nazarene each placed three members onto the Honorable Mention list.

Courtesy Great American Conference

Tags: , , , , , , ,