USA Today Coaches Poll Gives Razorbacks, Red Wolves a Vote

usa today coaches poll preseason



OK. OK. It’s not much, but it is something. The USA Today College Coaches Poll is up and out and both the Razorbacks and the Red Wolves have gotten a vote each. Before you become all cynical and say, “Sure, Bret Bielema voted for the Razorbacks and Bryan Harsin voted for the Red Wolves,” we will remind you, coaches are not allowed to vote for their own team in the Coaches Poll any more.

The top five in the Coaches Poll are the usual suspects:

  • Alabama
  • Ohio State
  • Oregon
  • Stanford
  • Georgia

The SEC ended with six teams in the top 25 of the Coaches Poll – Alabama (1), Georgia (5), Texas A&M (6), South Carolina (7) and Florida (10). That’s right. The Razorbacks face four teams in the preseason top 10.

Ole Miss got 32 votes in the Coaches Poll. Vanderbilt received 29; Mississippi State got three and Tennessee received 1 vote.

The team the Red Wolves beat in the Go Daddy Bowl earlier this year, Kent State, got 3 votes.

Bret Bielema’s former team, the Wisconsin Badgers were voted No. 23 among the coaches, and the teams Bryan Harsin is most closely associated with, Boise State (No. 19) and Texas (No. 15) made the list.

Here is this season’s list of 62 coaches selected to cast ballots:

The USA TODAY Sports Board of Coaches is made up of 62 head coaches at Bowl Subdivision schools. All are members of the American Football Coaches Association. The board for the 2013 season: David Bailiff, Rice; Frank Beamer, Virginia Tech; Tim Beckman, Illinois; Bret Bielema, Arkansas; Bill Blankenship, Tulsa; Terry Bowden, Akron; Art Briles, Baylor; Troy Calhoun, Air Force; Matt Campbell, Toledo; Rod Carey, Northern Illinois; Dave Christensen, Wyoming; Dave Clawson, Bowling Green; Larry Coker, Texas-San Antonio; David Cutcliffe, Duke; Mark Dantonio, Michigan State; Tim DeRuyter, Fresno State; Ron English, Eastern Michigan; Larry Fedora, North Carolina; Jimbo Fisher, Florida State; Kyle Flood, Rutgers; Dennis Franchione, Texas State; James Franklin, Vanderbilt; Al Golden, Miami (Fla.); Todd Graham, Arizona State; Jim Grobe, Wake Forest; Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State; Bryan Harsin, Arkansas State; Bobby Hauck, UNLV; Mark Helfrich, Oregon; Brady Hoke, Michigan; Dana Holgorsen, West Virginia; Doc Holliday, Marshall; Mark Hudspeth, Louisiana-Lafayette; Curtis Johnson, Tulane; Joey Jones, South Alabama; June Jones, Southern Methodist; Brian Kelly, Notre Dame; Jerry Kill, Minnesota; Kliff Kingsbury, Texas Tech; Mike Leach, Washington State; Rocky Long, San Diego State; Dan McCarney, North Texas; Bronco Mendenhall, Brigham Young; Urban Meyer, Ohio State; Les Miles, LSU; Ken Niumatalolo, Navy; George OLeary, Central Florida; Bo Pelini, Nebraska; Chris Petersen, Boise State; Mark Richt, Georgia; Mike Riley, Oregon State; Rich Rodriguez, Arizona; Nick Saban, Alabama; Steve Spurrier, South Carolina; Rick Stockstill, Middle Tennessee; Bob Stoops, Oklahoma; Charlie Strong, Louisville; Dabo Swinney, Clemson; Kevin Sumlin, Texas A&M; Don Treadwell, Miami (Ohio); Tommy Tuberville, Cincinnati; Kyle Whittingham, Utah. AFCA policy bars schools under major NCAA or conference sanctions from receiving votes.

Tags: , , , ,