New Class Enters Arkansas Sportscasters-Sportswriters Hall of Fame


Here’s the scoop from the seventh-annual Arkansas Sportscasters-Sportswriters Hall of Fame banquet at Centennial Country Club in Conway.

Steve Sullivan was inducted as a sportscaster, joining (in order beginning with 2007), Paul Eells, Bud Campbell, Jim Elder, Pat Summerall, Frank Broyles and Mike Harrison.

Sullivan has been a sportscaster in Arkansas for 30 years, including 14 years at KATV.  He has been named Arkansas Sportscaster of the year three times and has won the AP Best Sportscast award 13 times at KATV.  The Arkansas Activities Association honored Sullivan with it’s Distinguished Media Member Award.

Joe Mosby was inducted as a sportswriter, joining Orville Henry, Jim Bailey, Harry King, Jerry McConnell, Wadie Moore and David McCollum. Mosby is an outdoor writer for the Log Cabin Democrat and freelance writer for several other newspapers throughout the state.

Jimmy “Red” Parker got the lifetime achievement award, joining Jim Bailey, Frank Broyles, John McConnell, Ken Hatfield, Joe Mosby and Jerry Jones.

Parker is a veteran football coach with time at Clemson, the Citadel, Ouachita Baptist University, Southern Arkansas University, and the first coach of Harmony Grove Cardinals.

Dick “Lefty” O’Neal was master of ceremonies.

From the Log Cabin Democrat in Conway, Ark.:  In a vote of state media and members of the Sports Club, Mosby received 32.7 percent of the vote.

Steve Sullivan, the sports director for KATV (Channel 7, Little Rock) and radio voice of the University of Central Arkansas football team, will the the sportcaster inductee. He received 28.9 percent of the statewide vote.

– J. Frank Parnell

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,