Broyles Award Announces Partnership with Broyles Foundation


College Football Hall of Fame members added to award’s selection committee

Little Rock, Ark. – The Broyles Award announces its partnership with the Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation, based in Fayetteville, Ark.. Under the agreement, The Broyles Foundation will control all aspects of the Broyles Award and continue the award’s mission of honoring college football’s top assistant coaches.

The Broyles Award was the first national award to originate from the state of Arkansas and was the first assistant coach of the year award for any sport in the world. The award was created by David Bazzel in 1996 with the permission of Frank Broyles. From 1996-2002 the Broyles Award partnered with the Major Sports Association of the Little Rock Chamber of Commerce and The Little Rock Rotary Club from 2003-2015.

“With the Broyles Award reaching the 20-year mark in 2015, I felt it was time to chart a new course for future years,” said David Bazzel. “Today marks the beginning of a new chapter for the Broyles Award, one that secures the award’s future with the family of Frank Broyles and the Broyles Foundation.”

The foundation will utilize the Broyles Award to support Coach Broyles’ second legacy of supporting Alzheimer’s caregivers, which is the mission of the Broyles Foundation. The foundation will use this new platform to engage the most influential people in college sports to bring awareness and provide resources for caregivers who are coaching in the most difficult game of their lives.

“On behalf of Coach Broyles, our family, and The Broyles Foundation, it is an honor to be a major part of the award that has had such impact on the landscape of college football for the last 20 years,” said Betsy Broyles Arnold, Broyles Foundation CEO. “The award has provided an opportunity to bring national attention to our great state and we are so proud of the support that Arkansas has given.”

In addition to the partnership with the Broyles Foundation, the Broyles Award announced the addition of eight past coaches, including a number of College Football Hall of Fame coaches to its Selection Committee:

  • Lou Holtz, College Football Hall of Fame (Arkansas, Notre Dame, South Carolina)
  • John Robinson, College Football Hall of Fame (USC, LA Rams)
  • Mike Bellotti, College Football Hall of Fame (Oregon)
  • Jim Donnan, College Football Hall of Fame (Georgia, Marshall)
  • RC Slocum, College Football Hall of Fame (Texas A&M)
  • Pat Dye, College Football Hall of Fame (Auburn)
  • Frank Beamer (Virginia Tech)
  • Gary Pinkel (Missouri, Toledo)

For more information about the Broyles Award, including a complete list of the Broyles Award Selection Committee members, visit

# # #

About the Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation

 Founded in 2006 after the death of Coach’s wife, Barbara, The Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation was established to improve the quality of life for professional and family-based caregivers. They serve caregivers through five main areas: resource distribution, training and education, counseling, support groups and advocacy. Celebrating their 10-year anniversary, The Broyles Foundation has printed and distributed over one million copies of “Coach Broyles’ Playbook for Alzheimer’s Caregivers” in 11 languages.

About the Broyles Award

The Broyles Award was created in 1996 by David Bazzel to promote the legacy of Coach Frank Broyles and his remarkable track record of selecting, training and developing some of football’s greatest assistant coaches. The Broyles Award was the first national award to originate from the state of Arkansas and the first assistant coach of the year award for any sport in the world. The Broyles Award continues to be the most coveted award by college football’s top assistants, evidenced by significant salary increases and head coaching opportunities.

Frank Broyles’ legacy of selecting and developing great assistants is unparalleled during his almost two decades at Arkansas.

Broyles’ assistants who became head coaches:

  • Coached in 8 Super Bowls (15% of all Super Bowls) winning 6 of those in a span of 14 years.
  • Won 5 college national championships, more than 40 conference titles and more than 2000 games.
  • Two of his assistants, Jimmy Johnson & Barry Switzer won both Super Bowl championships & National Collegiate titles. Only three coaches in football history have ever accomplished that feat.

More than 25 Broyles assistants earned head coaching jobs at the college or NFL level:

  • Joe Gibbs (Super Bowl winner x 3)
  • Jimmy Johnson (Super Bowl winner x 2)
  • Barry Switzer (Super Bowl winner)
  • Raymond Berry
  • Johnny Majors
  • Hayden Fry
  • Jackie Sherrill
  • Doug Dickey
  • Pepper Rogers
  • Plus 16 others

Broyles Award Finalists and Winners Through 2015:

  • 104 finalists honored
  • Representing 53 colleges

From Broyles Award to Head Coach:

  • Through 2015, 55% of all Broyles’ finalists and winners have gone on to become head coaches.
  • 25 Broyles Award finalists and winners are currently active head coaches, that is approximately 20% of all FBS coaches.
  • Eight Broyles Award winners or finalists have gone on as head coaches to win National Head Coach of the Year honors.

Broyles Award Finalist Breakdown from past 20 years:

  • 52 defensive assistants
  • 52 offensive assistants

Broyles Award Winner Breakdown from past 20 years:

  • 11 defensive assistants
  • 9 offensive assistants

Broyles Award

Tags: , ,