Big Names Mean Big News For Broyles Award

LITTLE ROCK – The Little Rock Rotary Club announced the addition of two members to the Broyles Award selection committee that annually selects the top assistant college football coach in the country.

Former Texas Longhorn Head Coach Mack Brown and former Tennessee Volunteer head coach Phillip Fulmer will join a prestigious group of former head coaches that includes Frank Broyles, Vince Dooley, Hayden Fry, Lavell Edwards, Johnny Majors, Barry Switzer, Grant Teaff and Dick MacPherson.

Brown led the Longhorns to a national championship in 2006 and won 244 games as a head coach while Fulmer led the Volunteers to a national title in 1998 and won 152 games as a head coach. Both Fulmer and Brown had assistants that won the Broyles Award including Tennessee offensive coordinator David Cutcliffe in 1998 and Texas offensive coordinator Greg Davis in 2005.

The selection committee has won a combined 2,263 games, coached in 178 bowl games and won 11 National Championships. The award is named in honor of former Arkansas head coach and athletic director Frank Broyles, who had 24 of his assistants become head coaches that led their teams to 8 Super Bowls, winning 6 of them, as well as 5 college national championships and over 2000 victories. Some of those assistants included Joe Gibbs, Barry Switzer, Jimmy Johnson, Johnny Majors and Hayden Fry.

The winner of the 2013 Broyles Award was Michigan State defensive coordinator Pat Narduzzi. The 2014 Broyles Award ceremony will be held on December 9 in Little Rock and is presented by the Little Rock Rotary Club.

The Broyles Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 699 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

For more information, visit or search Broyles Award on Facebook and Twitter.

Tags: , ,