2016 Broyles Award Finalists Named


2016 broyles award finalists

The 2016 Broyles Award Finalists Announced for CeremonyOne finalist set to be named college football’s top assistant coach


Little Rock, AR – November 28, 2016 – The Frank and Barbara Broyles Foundation is pleased to announce the five finalists for the 2016 Broyles Award. The finalists are:

  • Alabama – Jeremy Pruitt, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
  • Clemson – Brent Venables, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
  • Colorado – Jim Leavitt, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
  • Michigan – Don Brown, Defensive Coordinator/Linebackers
  • Pittsburgh – Matt Canada, Offensive Coordinator/Quarterbacks

The Broyles Award honors college football’s top assistant coach. The award was established in 1996 to recognize legendary head football Coach Frank Broyles. Coach Broyles had a track record of producing some of the most successful assistant coaches in college football history.


The 2016 Broyles Award winner will be announced on Tuesday, December 6th at 1:00pm at the Marriott Hotel. The winner of the 2015 Broyles Award was Lincoln Riley, University of Oklahoma.


This year marks the first time the Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation has presented the award. Proceeds from the 2016 Broyles Award will go to support the mission of the Broyles Foundation; to educate, support, and connect with Alzheimer’s caregivers.


The Broyles Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 699 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.


# # #


You can follow the Broyles Award on Facebook and  Twitter. The Broyles Foundation can be followed on Facebook and Twitter.



2016 Broyles Award Class Facts

  • Jim Leavitt represents the first ever Broyles Award finalist from Colorado
  • Brent Venables becomes only the third 3-time Broyles Award finalist and is one of only 6 to be a finalist at two different universities (Oklahoma, Clemson)
  • Jeremy Pruitt becomes the fourteenth 2-time Broyles Award finalist and is one of only 6 to be a finalist at two different universities. (FSU, Alabama)
  • Matt Canada is the 7th assistant to become a Broyles Award finalist under a head coach that was also a finalist or winner.

Tags: , ,