Phil Steele’s Preseason All-SBC Football Team Features 13 Red Wolves

JONESBORO, Ark. (5/22/13) – The Arkansas State Red Wolves football team has placed 13 players on Phil Steele’s 2013 Preseason All-Sun Belt Conference Team, including five first team selections that matched the most in the league.

In addition to their five first team choices, the Red Wolves also placed four players on both the second and third teams.  A-State’s 13 total selections were the second most in the conference behind only Louisiana-Monroe’s 15 picks.  Seven offensive, five defensive and one special teams players comprised ASU’s selections.

Arkansas State Red Wolves players earning a place on the first unit were senior running back David Oku, sophomore wide receiver J.D. McKissic, senior offensive lineman Aaron Williams, senior defensive lineman Ryan Carrethers and junior linebacker Qushaun Lee.

Senior offensive lineman Steven Haunga, junior safety Sterling Young and sophomore offensive lineman Travis Bodenstien all represented ASU on the second team along with senior Eddie Porter, who made the squad as a defensive lineman.

The Red Wolves third team choices included senior wide receiver Julian Jones, sophomore tight end Darion Griswold, senior defensive lineman Dexter Blackmon and senior kicker Brian Davis.

The Red Wolves open their 2013 season Aug. 31 at home against UAPB.  Season tickets for ASU’s 2013 campaign are currently on sale at the ASU Ticket Office.  The ticket office can be contacted at 870-972-ASU1, or tickets can be purchased online through A-State’s official athletic Web site