UAM Football Announces 2013 High School Signing Class

Courtesy University of Arkansas at Monticello Athletics Department


MONTICELLO — University of Arkansas at Monticello head football coach Hud Jackson has revealed a list of 14 high school seniors that have signed National Letters of Intent to play for the Boll Weevils starting in the 2013 season.

Jackson announced his high school signing class as well as introduced the program’s 11 mid-year transfers to the UAM community on Wednesday afternoon at a reception inside the Indoor Practice Facility.

The 2013 UAM high school signing class consists of seven players from within the state of Arkansas, six from Louisiana and one from Tennessee.


Zach Calhoun: DS, 5-11, 180 (Cabot, Ark./Cabot HS)

Helped lead Cabot to the second round of the 7A State Playoffs.

Wacey Connor: WR, 5-11, 170 (Van Buren, Ark./Van Buren HS)

Two-time all-conference in football, two-time all-state in track.

Brett Courville: QB, 5-11, 205 (Greenwell Springs, La./Central HS)

1st Team All-District, 1st Team All-Metro, 2nd Team 5A All-State, District and Metro MVP, 3500 yards of total offense, accounted for 32 touchdowns.

Hunter Darby: DT, 6-3, 255 (Erath, La./Erath HS)

Team Captain, 1st Team All-District, 1st Team All-Parish, Best of Teche.

Brendan Everage: TE, 6-3, 200 (Shreveport, La./Evangel Christian)

1st Team All-District, Helped lead team to state championship game.

Anthony Holmes, Jr.: OLB, 6-1, 190 (Memphis, Tenn./Memphis Central HS)

Two-time 1st Team All-Conference.

William Jackson, III: QB, 6-2, 195 (Monticello, Ark./Drew Central HS)

Honorable Mention All-Conference.

Steven King: DT, 5-11, 260 (Dermott, Ark./McGehee HS)

Hootens Defensive Player of the Year, Outstanding Defensive Lineman 6-3A, 1st Team All-Conference, 1st Team 3A All-State.

Jamie McGee: K/P, 5-9, 165 (Lake Charles, La./Barbe HS)

1st Team All-District, 1st Team All-Southwest Louisiana, 1st Team 5A All-State, Holds 14 of 15 school kicking records.

Byron Miller: CB, 6-1, 175 (Little Rock, Ark./LR Central HS)

Team Captain, Three-time 1st team all-conference, 2012 7A All-State, AAA Award Recipient.

Austin Nutt: OLB, 6-1, 215 (Fordyce, Ark./Fordyce HS)

Two-time All-Conference.

Teveon Perkins: WR, 6-0, 165 (Hot Springs, Ark./Lakeside HS)

Two-time All-Conference, 2012 All-Garland County.

Tyler Sparrow: C, 6-1, 290 (Baton Rouge, La./Catholic HS)

1st Team All-District.

Logan Woods: OL, 6-3, 260 (Lake Charles, La. /Barbe HS)

1st Team All-District.


Tags: , , ,